Advising

CEA academic advisors are here to guide and support every CEA student.

Each CEA student is assigned a faculty advisor. Students should meet with their assigned faculty advisor at least once each semester to review academic progress and make course selections for the following semester. Students should email their assigned advisor to schedule an appointment or visit their office during advising hours, posted on office doors. Students with extenuating circumstances, conflicts, or serious academic difficulties may be referred to the Department Chair or Office of Student Services. In addition to academic progress and course selection, advising meetings may also include discussions on opportunities for summer courses and internships, career counseling, and balancing school and personal responsibilities.

Department of Architecture

Prof. Bradford Grant, bcgrant@howard.edu
Transfer, special situations, first, second and third year students

Dr. Hazel R. Edwards, hazel.edwards@howard.edu
Fourth and fifth year students

Department of Chemical Engineering

Dr. Solmaz Tabtabaei, solmaz.tabtabaei@howard.edu
Freshmen, sophomores

Dr. Ramesh Chawla, rchawla@howard.edu 
Juniors, seniors

Dr. Patrick Ymele-Leki, patrick.ymeleleki@howard.edu
All students (especially transfer students)

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Stephen Arhin, saarhin@howard.edu
Freshmen

Dr. Md Sami Hasnine, mdsami.hasnine@howard.edu 
Sophomores

Dr. Jeseth Delgado Vela, jeseth.delgadovela@howard.edu 
Juniors

Dr. Hessam Yazdani, hessam.yazdani@howard.edu
Seniors

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Computer Engineering:
Dr. Michaela Amoo, mamoo@howard.edu
All students

Computer Science (in alphabetical order by student last name):

Dr. Jiang Li, jli@howard.edu
A, B (unless otherwise noted)

Dr. Jeremy Blackstone, jeremy.m.blackstone@howard.edu
C, D, E, F

Dr. Noha Hazzazi, noha.hazzazi@howard.edu
G, H, I, J, K, L

Dr. Gloria Washington, gloria.washington@howard.edu
M, N, O, P, Q

Dr. Harry Keeling, hkeeling@howard.edu
R to Z

Electrical Engineering:
Dr. Charles Kim, ckim@howard.edu
All students

Google Tech Exchange:
Dr. Legand Burge, lburge@howard.edu
All students

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Hyung Bae, hyung.bae@howard.edu
Freshmen

Dr. Naren Vira, nvira@howard.edu
Sophomores

Dr. Gbadebo Owolabi, gbadebo.owolabi@howard.edu
Juniors

Dr. Nadir Yilmaz, nadir.yilmaz@howard.edu
Seniors