Advising

CEA academic advisors are here to guide and support every CEA student.

Each CEA student is assigned a faculty advisor. Students should meet with their assigned faculty advisor at least once each semester to review academic progress and make course selections for the following semester. Students should email their assigned advisor to schedule an appointment or visit their office during advising hours, posted on office doors. Students with extenuating circumstances, conflicts, or serious academic difficulties may be referred to the Department Chair or Office of Student Services. In addition to academic progress and course selection, advising meetings may also include discussions on opportunities for summer courses and internships, career counseling, and balancing school and personal responsibilities.

Department of Architecture

Dr. Hazel R. Edwards, hazel.edwards@howard.edu
Transfer, first and second year students

Prof. Bradford Grant, bcgrant@howard.edu
Third, fourth and fifth year students

Department of Chemical Engineering

Dr. Solmaz Tabtabaei, solmaz.tabtabaei@howard.edu
Freshmen, sophomores

Dr. John P. Tharakan, jtharakan@howard.edu
Juniors, seniors

Dr. Patrick Ymele-Leki, patrick.ymeleleki@howard.edu
Seniors

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Stephen Arhin, saarhin@howard.edu
Freshmen, sophomores

Dr. Ahlam Shalaby, ashalaby@howard.edu
Juniors, seniors

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Computer Science (in alphabetical order by student last name):

Dr. Jiang Li, jli@howard.edu
A, B (unless otherwise noted)

Dr. Harry Keeling, hkeeling@howard.edu
C, D, E, F

Dr. Noha Hazzazi, noha.hazzazi@howard.edu
G, H, I, J

Dr. Chunmei Liu, chuliu@howard.edu
K, L, M, N

Dr. Habeeb Olufowobi, habeeb.olufowobi1@howard.edu
O, P, Q

Dr. Harry Keeling, hkeeling@howard.edu
R to Z

Computer Engineering:
Dr. Michaela Amoo, mamoo@howard.edu
All students

Electrical Engineering:
Dr. Charles Kim, ckim@howard.edu
All students

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Hyung Bae, hyung.bae@howard.edu
Freshmen

Dr. Horace Whitworth, hwhitworth@howard.edu
Sophomores

Dr. Gbadebo Owolabi, gbadebo.owolabi@howard.edu
Juniors

Dr. Nadir Yilmaz, nadir.yilmaz@howard.edu
Seniors