Statement on NAAB-Accredited Degree

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Howard University Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB accredited degree program: Master of Architecture, 1st Professional degree (prerequisite: The Bachelor of Science of Architecture and Design Studies (BSADS) + 171 credits required). The next NAAB accreditation visit for the Master of Architecture program will be in 2025.